PDA

View Full Version : Mississippi.

Aaron.Sullivan
03-08-2011, 01:58 AM
Hello everyone.
Excuse me if I am, well. Speaking out of turn. I seem to do that alot. So, people around me usually get used to it.

Note: before reading this, that I am not yet an apprentice (Hence the speaking out of turn, part). I have been, since a VERY young age, absolutely fascinated with falconry. Probably ever since reading "My Side of the Mountain" as a young boy. Recently, my interest has been sparked (yet again), but this time I might just actually have the means to go about taking those first steps. I'm 20 years old. A college student in Mississippi, and I work as an intern (hopefully soon, a full employee) for the Corp of Engineers. I enjoy hunting occasionally, but deer hunting (with the typical "sit and wait for days" setup) just doesn't hold my attention well. I usually end up reading the whole day, and probably missing the potential prey. But I do enjoy many other types of hunting.

I intend to take this process slow. Hopefully, I will have my facility constructed and time available to begin at the start of the summer. However, there are some things I have questions about.

In my line of work.. There's alot of government research. Research that has me spending alot of time in Leeseburg, LA, testing (forgive me for spelling errors) random crap. I may end up spending a week or two there at a time during the summer. Does this make it impossible for me to have a bird?

I was hoping to go with a Kestral. I thought that it would be somewhat easier to house and care for in a more suburban area. Should I be away for a week or two, would this be something that my wife or a friend could feed and care for? Would there be anything special that they needed to do? What is the official "Hunting season" of this bird? Would they need to fly it some for exercise? Can it go on "Little hunts" in my back yard?