PDA

View Full Version : Hello from northern michigan!

Dane08
08-19-2012, 03:52 PM
Hello everyone,

I would like to introduce myself and start off by saying that I have so far enjoyed reading all the information and knowledge you all have to offer! I am a complete newbie to this wonderful sport and I find all of the birds involved beautiful and intriguing. I would love to take the proper steps and eventually be come a falconer myself! Looking forward to furthering my knowledge from all of your posts and I would love to meet some Michigan falconer's. I was given a wonderful opportunity to visit Wings of Wonder for a personal tour of the rehab facility and Rebecca runs a great operation! She didn't know of any falconers near the benzie county area so any leads would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance for any information.

Dane Bovee

DirtHawker
08-19-2012, 09:21 PM
Welcome to an obsession Dane. Kory Koch is our public relations contact and he checks out NAFEX frequently. Check out the Michigan Hawking Club website, there is an area to post in and you might be able to contact a falconer up in your area.

Love that area of MI. Fished Leeland, the Betsie, the Platte, all good. Hope to take the Harris cast up that way for some crows next month, oh yeah and some golf for the hubby.
Sue

christopher.heth
08-19-2012, 10:42 PM
Greetings, Dane;

I can empathize, having just moved to Sault Ste. Marie and hoping there are active falconers within a manageable radius to learn about the sport first-hand. I hope our paths cross at some point, and good luck!

Chris

Dane08
08-20-2012, 09:02 AM
Thanks Sue! I fly fish the betsie and platte all the time, just counting down the days till the salmon run... if you do happen to bring your Harris cast to the area and wouldn't mind a tag along I would love to see some action and actually see a Harris in person!