PDA

View Full Version : From Beaumont, CA - JUST PASSED STATE TEST!

MrProducer
09-18-2014, 02:21 PM
Greetings everyone from hot and arid, Beaumont, CA.

I JUST passed the state written test in California and I am looking for friends, advice, and a sponsor to take me on.

I e-mailed the California Hawking Club apprentice chair two weeks ago with no response. Below are the answers to the auto-response e-mail they sent me.

I would appreciate any help and tips you could give me. Thanks!!!

-Mark L.

Have you passed your falconry exam with the state?
Yes. 96%

Have you joined the CHC?
Yes. I paid for membership.

What is your Zip code?

Tell me a bit about yourself (i.e. age, occupation, are you a hunter, why you are interested in falconry).
I am nearly 33 years old. I am a film producer.

I am an occasional hunter and have started to go on more hunting trips now that my sons are in cub scouts.

I was first introduced to falconry last year when I worked for CBS television. A man was hired to fly his Harris' hawks around the Water Garden office building. Every afternoon I would see him clearing the central lake of sea birds during my lunch break. One day, I decided to come up to him and he explained all the responsibilities of falconry and since I lived near Hemet that I should really consider it if I was ready for the challenge. After a year of contemplation and study, I feel that I am ready for the challenge.

Do you know what you want to fly? (Kestrel, Redtail, don't know.)
I honestly want to find a mentor that suits me first. I hope one day to fly a number of birds.

kw1001
09-18-2014, 03:40 PM
Congrats on the test.
My brother and I grew up in Calimesa and flew hawks and falcons in Beaumont, Calimesa, Yucaipa, Hemet, Ontario, etc. What a great place to be for falconry (at least it was back then - 1990s.)
Keep asking and I'm sure you'll find local falconers to be helpful. You'll want to look into slope soaring redtails for jacks and cottontails. Many great memories!