PDA

View Full Version : I live to learn!

IMOwly
09-21-2014, 08:51 AM
Hello everyone!
I am a wildlife tech at an animal hospital currently, but for seven years I was the Bird of Prey and Wildlife curator at the local zoo. Now I run my own educational programs (Phoenix Wildlife Education) using my Barred owl- Ripley and Screech-Seymore along with a myriad of my other 27 exotics (all rescues and donations). I go to local schools and businesses and educate on native wildlife here in FL and on responsible exotic pet ownership.
I am looking forward to gaining any and all information I can to better myself and my programs.
Looking forward to learning from you all!

mcogar88
09-21-2014, 09:45 AM
http://www.nafex.net/misc.php?do=cfrules

Read this, and make sure to sign your name or you will get written up. =)

Also, how are you using a barred owl, and screech owl for you shows. I know in Wisconsin at least your not permitted to use falconry, rehabilitation or education birds for profit. I know there are loop holes like allow the use of exotic's, and I believe captive bred birds. Just curious what permit your holding the birds under.

Otherwise nice to meet you welcome to the site. Don't forget this is a falconry site, dedicated to falconry.

"Falconry is the taking of wild quarry in its natural state and habitat using a trained bird of prey"

IMOwly
09-28-2014, 06:26 PM
Thanks for the heads up. I did get a warning and a point...oops. My shows are non-flight educational and I do not charge a fee for the programs. I have a special purpose educational permit that requires 12 public shows per year. I didn't realize that I could not use this site if I was not a falconer. I came here just to get and share information, techniques etc. Am I not allowed to be here because I am not a falconer?? There are not many forum sites for raptors and I thought this would be interesting.

Jenny Henry

Tyme2fly
09-28-2014, 07:22 PM