PDA

View Full Version : Big hello from Hollywood,Fl

SakerDreams
08-01-2015, 01:52 PM
Hi everyone hopefully your having a great day. My name is Marcelo and I'm 28, like most here I've had a lifelong passion for raptors most likely due to the Animorphs book series lol. Anyhow I've been aspiring to become a falconer for the past 5 years or so. I now feel I have the adequate time,space and finances to commit to this lifestyle. Looking forward to meeting some amazing people and raptors on this journey of mine. Hopefully some local.

P.S. I don't mind traveling :D

SakerDreams
08-01-2015, 07:00 PM
Also here a list of material I've been reading/study. CHC study guide,The falconer's Apprentice,A Falconry Manual,The Modern Falconer, Falconry Basics and Hawking and falconry for Beginners. I'll be adding North American Falconry & Hunting Hawks once I'm finished with these, any suggestion before I take the test?

Tyme2fly
08-02-2015, 09:10 PM
Enjoy the new passion

Chris L.
08-02-2015, 11:48 PM
Welcome to NAFEX!

Good luck on your journey and thank you for saying hello

SakerDreams
08-03-2015, 11:07 PM
Thank you for the welcome guys, glad to be here :)

eli8210
08-04-2015, 07:05 AM
Marcelo,

I am just finishing up my last year of apprenticeship and can say it is well worth your time. Good luck on finding a sponsor.

SakerDreams
08-04-2015, 01:39 PM
Hey Eric thank you for the support I know this will be a lifetime adventure.

raptor rehabber
08-04-2015, 10:58 PM
I'm just getting started too, and passed the exam a couple of months back. :)

Also reading like crazy - finishing up Glasier's Falconry and Hawking, and just got the Beebe & Webster N. American Falconry & Hunting Hawks. Super excited about it.

I found the study guide here extremely helpful for the FL falconry exam: www.thesings.net/StudyGuide/setup.htm This IS a download at your risk thing, be forewarned, but I haven't had any issues with malware.