PDA

View Full Version : Help! How do I OC train my RedTail?

Lynckmob25
01-13-2017, 12:55 AM
Greetings! I am a first year apprentice with a red tail hawk. Traditional training has help me man an amazing RTH. However, I feel I am still missing something. OPC training innately makes sense to me for training a my bird dogs. Obviously, I can use this with my raptor as well! I was initially turned on to this method of training from the modern apprentice website. I have read numerous articles explaining various techniques on how to implement the conditioning. However, I have not run across any videos taking someone step-by-step through this process or introduction. Are there any books or videos (preferably videos) that someone could direct me towards? I am eager to learn as much as I can. I look forward to hearing back from someone soon!

Thanks you!

Cuz
01-13-2017, 08:21 AM
Kevin,

If you are hunting with your Red Tail, you are using operant conditioning already. It does work the same as it does with your bird dogs, in theory. Only the application and the end results are going to be different.

There are tons of books out there on Operant conditioning and plenty of videos, but probably not many of hawks being trained.

What is it that you want your hawk to do? If you explain that in detail, I am sure I, or plenty of others on this forum, can help you achieve your goal.

goshawkr
01-13-2017, 02:39 PM
If you are already familiar with OC, then using it on a new species is just as simple as 1) establishing the conditioned reinforcer/targets that you want to use and 2) coming up with a plan of attack for a behavior that you want to shape.

OC is not always the best/fastest way to get results, but anything that can learn and that senses the outside world and that can preceive that they recieved a reward can be trained with OC. This is not theory - its long since been established. Scallops and earthworms have been trained.