PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Rochester NY

Joe
08-03-2009, 07:36 PM
Hello, name is Joe as you could probably tell from the nickname. I live in Rochester NY with my wife and 2 kids. I am 38 and a veteran of Desert Storm, Bosnia & Somalia. I got out of the Navy after 8 years. I was a weapons technician in the navy.

I grew up near Binghamton NY. I lived with my grandparents they were employed by IBM and we got one of the new Personal Computers in 1982. I have been a computer geek ever since. Been building and repairing them since the early 80's back when computer shopper was only 50 pages or so. I got into the internet around 1994 while I was in the navy. Had several websites, back in those days they all resembled Myspace where everyone threw every gaudy sparlky animated gif at you in hopes of wowing your socks off.

I still make websites although they tend to be more personal ones. I am currently a freelance graphic designer and work from home while going to the Art Institute of Pittsburgh for Bachelors in Graphic Design. I have a couple of degrees but nothing that I can get paid for unfortunately.

I used to hunt all the time small game, deer with bow and rifle. I still have my small game license current.
I have always loved falconry; but until recently I was not quite sure how to go about getting into it. I mean I go to the renaissance faire in Sterling NY every couple of years and loved watching the shows but never could make the connection on how to get involved. When I went up to talk to the falconer, every time he remained in character and told me to go ask my lord or something frus.