PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from MD

Bojinx
03-16-2010, 01:32 PM
Hello all.

I just wanted to drop a quick line here to introduce myself. My name is Jimmy and I'm a lifelong resident of Maryland (going on 34years.) I've been hunting since I could hold a BB gun and I've had bird companions almost as long. I've always been interested in falconry but only recently have I begun looking at it seriously. I'm very much at a researching stage right now, but I'm looking to find some people close to the Cecil County area who are flying.

Maryland DNR has asked that I find and read the out of print "North American Falconry & Hunting Hawks." I was curious if anyone could help me locate a local copy, or suggest an alternative.

I was also curious about any clubs in-state. Marylandfalconry.com seems to have closed up, so any information on local clubs or websites would be great.

Thanks for any help. This seems like a friendly and knowledgeable community, and I'm looking forward to learning and growing here.

Hawkmom
03-16-2010, 01:38 PM
(welc) I'm from Maryland originally. Look at this site: www.themodernapprentice.com. Great info there too. NAFHH is a great text. A good start.

Chesapeakehawk
03-16-2010, 05:39 PM
If you can find North American Falconry and Hunting Hawks you should read it. I am staring at a copy about 5 feet away right now. Also "The Red-Tailed Hawk": A Complete Guide....etc. was helpful and my sponsor gave me a copy.

The Maryland extended public library system has at least a dozen titles you can check out through Marina books I believe. Many are older texts, a few were in middle English (but were still interesting from a historical aspect).

Bojinx
03-17-2010, 06:39 PM
Thanks for the tips.

I've been reading at www.themodernapprentice.com (http://www.themodernapprentice.com) in my spare time. That's the one thing I definitely have going for me is that I do enjoy reading.