PDA

View Full Version : Hello. Seeking information in New Jersey

don c
08-24-2010, 02:11 AM
I am new to falconry and would like ANY information on group meetings and/or any way to get involved with other apprentices or falconers in my general area of Central, N.J. I recently had the pleasure to work with a baby Red Tailed Hawk who fell from his nest with a leg injury. Knowing the local animal control officer well, I've helped him with foxes, racoons, dogs, other small animals, and a couple of horses.
I currently own 7 retired standardbreds, 5 dogs, 4 small birds. All of our birds, with the exception of the Conure, were found on our farm and raised from the size of a silver dollar. Although the Hawk had to be returned, the time that I had spent with him really fueled my desire to learn and experience more in falconry. Anyone willing to help me get more involved in the sport, please contact me. I am in my 40's (though mentally in my 20's) and still love to seek new hobbies and friends , inevitably bringing me here to your forum.

GONEHAWKN
08-24-2010, 04:46 AM
"don c" (signing your posts with your real name keeps things friendly here) all i can say is good luck on your search for more info on the addiction we call falconry. one piece of advice, do not refer to falconry as a hobby. it is far from it..........welcome to the forum...

don c
08-24-2010, 08:06 AM
Bill didnt mean to start off wrong.When I refer to the few thing I really enjoy in life that take all my time /money/and I think about it in my sleep I called them a hobby. Your correct addition is the better term. Don Carmody

outhawkn
08-24-2010, 08:45 AM
(welc) to Nafex.
I would contact your state club and your Fish and Game department.

longwinger2010
08-29-2010, 02:46 PM
Welcome to NAFEX.net !

KeiranZ
08-29-2010, 04:13 PM