Thread: Hello From Sénégal

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Hello From Sénégal

Hello guys,
    I'm a farmer living in Sénégal (West Africa) who's been interested in raptors for years now (essentially doing some birding).I've decided (now that I have the time..) to learn seriously about falconry before eventually acquiring a bird next year.I've contacted Nigel Hawkins to book a a week long training in 2021 and I'm reading various books at the moment and also of course this forum which is a real gold mine !
    All the Best to all

Bakary

Welcome, I'm kind of new myself. Yes it is a gold mine but one that get better if shared. Sounds like you will be getting a good start. There are a lot of knowledgeable and polite people here! Also if you have a problem, you can get a few ideas to deal with it quickly.
    Ron

Quote Originally Posted by Baks View Post
    Hello guys,
    I'm a farmer living in Sénégal (West Africa) who's been interested in raptors for years now (essentially doing some birding).I've decided (now that I have the time..) to learn seriously about falconry before eventually acquiring a bird next year.I've contacted Nigel Hawkins to book a a week long training in 2021 and I'm reading various books at the moment and also of course this forum which is a real gold mine !
    All the Best to all

Bakary
    Bakary,

Is there any history of falconry en Senegal that you know of? All the falconry in Africa that I am aware of are from the areas influencedy by the Arabian culture North of the Sahara or from the areas colonized by the British - chiefly South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Senegal is a very interesting place....look forward to hearing about your journey if you take it up.

Oh, and welcome!
    Geoff Hirschi - "It is better to have lightning in the fist than thunder in the mouth"
    Custom made Tail Saver Perches - http://www.myrthwood.com/TieEmHigh/

Hey Guys,