Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hello
    I have just recently discovered falconry. Any information on the best types of birds for a beginner would be greatly appreciated.

Hello. Where in Japan are you from. I have a friend that lives outside of Tokyo, She spend the summer with me. I don't know anything about Falconry in Japan but in the USA the only birds an apprentice can have is a Red Tail or a Kestrel.

I'm military stationed at Yokta AB. Originally from Oklahoma. I've been reading some of the regulations to get started. It sounds like a good setup to keep the new guy from getting over his head. I've read a post on another site that said a Kestrel was no good for a beginner

I am new to the sport too so I don't know how much help I am. But I think the main reason the Kestrel is harder is because it is so small and has a such a high metabolism. The Red Tail is large but is more forgiving to the inexperienced falconer.

Also, they like it if you include your name somewhere, it's just friendly.

Sorry
    My my name is Jon. I'm also new to posting on forums. Thank you for the help. I wouldn't mind a red tail though. I've read good things about them.

Hi Jon, and welcome! From what I can tell about Japanese Falconry (I plan to go there and study first hand one day) is that Traditionally the Goshawk is the bird of choice. It is my understanding that many Japanese Falconers are beginning to use Harris Hawks for their beginners. That is what I would do if I was in your shoes. Get a Harris. Also, try and find some "local" falconers who can offer you some advice and all that. To learn falconry in Japan....how cool is that!
    Tom

Thanks for the post.
    The Harris Hawk for a beginner seems to be a greatly debated issue(just finished reading one of the other posts) although it would be nice to have one that isn't extremely difficult to train. I am definitely going to find some falconers here in Japan to learn from.

John,