Thread: Greetings from MD

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Greetings from MD

Hello all.

I just wanted to drop a quick line here to introduce myself. My name is Jimmy and I'm a lifelong resident of Maryland (going on 34years.) I've been hunting since I could hold a BB gun and I've had bird companions almost as long. I've always been interested in falconry but only recently have I begun looking at it seriously. I'm very much at a researching stage right now, but I'm looking to find some people close to the Cecil County area who are flying.

Maryland DNR has asked that I find and read the out of print "North American Falconry & Hunting Hawks." I was curious if anyone could help me locate a local copy, or suggest an alternative.

I was also curious about any clubs in-state. Marylandfalconry.com seems to have closed up, so any information on local clubs or websites would be great.

Thanks for any help. This seems like a friendly and knowledgeable community, and I'm looking forward to learning and growing here.
    - Jimmy

I'm from Maryland originally. Look at this site: www.themodernapprentice.com. Great info there too. NAFHH is a great text. A good start.
    Kitty Carroll -- The Hawk of May

~~ The essence of falconry is not in the flight or the kill,
    but man's relationship with his hawk --- Terance Hanbury White~~

If you can find North American Falconry and Hunting Hawks you should read it. I am staring at a copy about 5 feet away right now. Also "The Red-Tailed Hawk": A Complete Guide....etc. was helpful and my sponsor gave me a copy.

The Maryland extended public library system has at least a dozen titles you can check out through Marina books I believe. Many are older texts, a few were in middle English (but were still interesting from a historical aspect).
    Abby
    Doha, Qatar

Thanks for the tips.