PDA

View Full Version : Good Evening

Hatchet
02-18-2011, 03:12 AM
I am new to the concept of falconry in general and would like some help getting started. Now just a little break of honesty I am not quite out of high school and so do not have much extra spending money at all. What isn't going into my tank of a truck is going into care for my gelding, Tobias, and tuition for farrier school and apprenticeships. From what I have read you need an apprenticeship of 2 years to be able to do this, so here’s my question. Is it possible that an aspiring rancher would be able to begin the task of falconry without breaking the bank? Please be honest as I would rather have a direct no then find out later that it won’t work. Any information will help! Thanks in advance.

-Hatchet

zero
02-18-2011, 03:49 AM
(welc)!!!!!!!!

In all honesty Falconry can not only be expensive but also very time consuming. The apprenticeship is not that expensive (if you make most your stuff and find a generous sponsor lol). Since you live in Oregon, you will be limited to the RT or Kestrel, for now anyways and they are free :D.

The most expensive item will be building your mews. When I started this journey (not too long ago), I spent about $400 building my mews, another $150 on books and around $200 on basic falconry equipment. Since then I have invested another thousand dollars. I think a more important question would be…will you have the time to dedicate to your raptor?

BTW feel free to email me J. Ohh and where in Oregon?

Hatchet
02-18-2011, 04:09 AM
All right, those prices I think I can tackle. I can't start working on anything until after farrier school due to monetary restrictions and deciding on where to live. As far as time, working as a farrier I decide my own hours so that should be of little problem. Thank you for the help!