PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

...and a girl
12-01-2007, 11:52 PM
My sponsor and his sponsor keep talking about this site so I decided to check it out. I am a second year apprentice with my 2nd redtail.

I got into falconry to spend time with my husband. Originally I wanted to just tag along. After my first meet which happened to be an Iowa/Minnesota meet I wanted a bird of my own. I had no idea a rabbit could scream like that and I was hooked. I saw several redtails make successful catches up close and personal. A couple of guys asked me to back off when I was right up on the bird taking pictures. I now know that it is for my own safety!! (Well that and the comfort of the bird and its handler)

My husband, kids and I now live in Oregon. Last season I was of course new to the sport as a bird handler and I was somewhat nervous. It was not quite what I expected it to be. I guess even though I was around birds I had not been responsible for one before. How she behaved and hunted depended a lot on me. Her health, fitness, the time I put into it, the training, and the opportunities I provided for her were all an indication of how I was doing in this sport. It was a tough first year with all the learning.

This season is much more enjoyable. My new bird has a totally different personality and I am enjoying her so much more. I think I have a different view this year also. Its looking to be a great season.

Sabrina
Eugene, OR

Bodarc
12-02-2007, 12:03 AM
Hi Sabrina

Welcome *S*. Glad to hear you're enjoying yourself. Keep us posted on your season, it makes for good reading.

outhawkn
12-02-2007, 01:12 AM
Hi, welcome.
I'm sure your going to be meeting Ev. real soon have fun! [smilie=smileys13.gif]

sevristh
12-02-2007, 02:57 AM
Welcome to the site! [smilie=icon_thumright.gif]

KidK
12-02-2007, 08:36 AM
Hi, welcome.
I'm sure your going to be meeting Ev. real soon have fun! [smilie=smileys13.gif]

Welcome to NAFEX Sabrina!