PDA

View Full Version : Future Apprentice

Lizzys Dad
11-07-2016, 01:46 PM
Greetings from Columbia, MS.
I am starting to reach out and speak with everyone I can to learn as much as possible about falconry. I have been raised in the country, hunted and fished my entire life. I have started a small family and my wife and I have made the decision to get into falconry.
I am a nurse by trade, but I have minimal knowledge about the proper care of a raptor other than it eats meat and drinks water and requires certain housing specs. Are there any a&p or biology books that you guys can recommend?

Thanks,

Evan Cleland

Icantmove
11-07-2016, 09:22 PM
Since nobody has responded to you yet:

Idk about A&P / biology. Closest thing that comes to mind that I've seen is Fox's book (Understanding the Bird of Prey). Not knowing what actually entails A&P / biology books, I can't properly say that that's the same (probably not as detailed), but I can say that if what you're looking for is substantially more detailed than that it's probably outside the scope of normal falconry (oxymoron?) and you might do better asking a raptor vet or something. To be fair, the raptor vets I know are falconers as well. One may come along here, but if that doesn't happen you at least have somewhere else to look, assuming you can find a raptor vet.