PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Iowa

Wakinyeja
06-15-2008, 11:58 PM
Hello:
Im new to Falconry, have always been fascinated by it. However until my kids were raised I didn't have time. Now that I do, I would like to learn and eventually be involved with the sport.
J

wesleyc6
06-16-2008, 12:26 AM
Glad to have you here. We like for you to use a real first name. Kind of like a family here. Ask any questions you have. There are some great falconers on here and guys that specialize in almost any bird you can think of. Lots of retail flyers on here.

everetkhorton
06-16-2008, 12:43 AM
J
(welc) There are a lot of post that you can go back over. There is some real good reading. A lot of subject have covered in the past.
Have fun!

Wakinyeja
06-16-2008, 12:51 AM
My real name is just as bad as the other name. Its Jauson.. Ju-s-son... but French..so the Ju... is really more like a Ja.... however Im from N.Am... ( You ask for it LOL) Glad this group is more like family as I do have allot to learn. I don't want to get in trouble for asking questions.. because I will ask.
Im an animal trainer by trade. The birds of pray have always been a fascination of mine, yet the one animal I have never had a chance to get my hands on. Now with my sons grown.. I have cut down on other animals and have the time it will take to dedicate my self to this dream. Here in IA pray is year round. Rabbits are year round.. just here on the ranch is plenty.
I know little about hawk behavior. All I know is from reading, or the one wild one I had for over 5yrs. I say had.. I use that term loosely. I assume wild Red Tails are territorial. I say this because my hawk ( or maybe I was his?) would keep other hawks away. The deal was I would feed him, and he kept other birds of pray from eating my chickens.. and he was full so really didn't have the urge. Thats all I know about birds of pray.. they take bribes.