PDA

View Full Version : Summer Greetings from Central Michigan

KidK
07-04-2007, 12:34 PM
Hello All,

I am a falconer from the central lower pensulia of Michigan. I have been flying hawks and falcons for about 12 years.

My prefrences are the accipiters, specifically Cooper's hawks and Goshawks. I currently have two imprint NA tercil Goshawks and one imprint NA female Goshawks on my propagation permit. I got a late start this year but learned much with my first attempt at propagation. I have high hopes for next season breeding.

I would like to add imprint Cooper's hawks to the project for propagation eventually. The idea of a hybrid Goshawk/Cooper's hawk or "Gooper's Hawk" sounds interesting to me. I would like to see what type of personality and abilities this would create.

I had plans to pull an eyas female Cooper's this spring but a series of nest loss by high wind storms, predation and earlier than expected hatch have left me without a Cooper's Hawk to imprint and fly this year.

Michigan is a tough place to fly a Cooper's hawk during the winter, so I was hoping to fly one through the summer and fall then do a forced molt through the winter while I fly goshawks.

I am looking forward to reading of others falconry exploits on this forum!

Best Regards,

Kory Koch
Michigan

goshawks00
07-04-2007, 07:05 PM
Hello Mr. Koch, glad to see another austringer on board. Geez tough luck about the coops, I wish I knew you had poor luck with taking an eyas. I had a nest of four literally right across the street from me. Last time we spoke you were going to a nest south of you so I just figured... go figure.